Coconut Milk Latte- Vegan

IMG_8464

I was recently introduced to the coconut milk latte at Starbucks, and maybe it’s just my love for Starbucks, but I would be surprised if my mouth tasted anything more amazing. The mix between the coffee and the coconut is indescribable, and grande never seems large enough.

As I searched the web for recipes to try to recreate the wonderful drink that I had experienced, I luckily found one recipe! It is from the blog Stupid Easy Paleo,using only two ingredients; Coconut Milk and Coffee. I made my latte based somewhat on this recipe, but I altered it a little bit.

This will make about 2 or 3 cups!

Heres how to make it:

Put together all your materials-

IMG_8433

3 Cups of Coffee (a little stronger than you usually make it)

1/2 Cup of Coconut Milk (or coconut cream)

A Pinch (ish) of Cinnamon for the Top (OPTIONAL)

A Little Bit of Coconut Milk to Froth and Pour on Top

A Vitamix or Other Blender

A Cup (Obviously)

IMG_8443

First Step- Place the Milk and Coffee in your blender (I use a vitamix) and blend for about twenty seconds (ish).

IMG_8448

Step 2- Pour the coffee mix into your cup, and rinse out your blender.

Step 3- Blend about 1/4 of a cup of coconut milk (you can warm it before blending it if you want) for about 15 seconds.

Step 4- Pour the frothed coconut milk over your coffee, in a design, or however you want!

Step 5- Sprinkle some cinnamon over the top of your latte, and you’re done

IMG_8471

 

 

The great thing about this recipe is that it is VEGAN! As a vegetarian and person who is lactose intolerant, I am always looking for fun recipes that are relatively healthy, and that don’t upset my stomach.

If I were to change what I did for this recipe, I would add half of the coconut milk. By adding 1/4 of a cup of coconut milk in the blender, and then adding some on top, it would make it less “milky” and “rich”, and more “coffee-like”.

 

 

THIS RECIPE WAS INSPIRED BY THE BLOG, “Stupid Easy Paleo”.

 

 

One thought on “Coconut Milk Latte- Vegan

Leave a Reply

